I’ve had trouble writing lately because there are other things on my mind besides trichotillomania. I’ll try not to get into too much detail here, but I’m always able to find parallels between everyday life and this disorder. Sometimes everyday life helps me to understand trich, and sometimes my journey with trich helps me to understand other things in life. In this way, maybe this weird disorder can be looked at as kind of a blessing.

I really feel that trichotillomania has given me an intense curiosity and wanting to understand things I initially don’t agree with. Maybe partially because what I deal with is often so misunderstood.

My hair/lack of hair and the fact that I pull it out often makes me feel like a weirdo. As such, I enjoy other weirdos. People that come across as perfect tend to scare me away. At the same time, whenever you actually get to know someone, you learn they’re a weirdo too. We’re all weirdos and I mean that in the most loving way possible. Everyone is different.

Empathy is the ability to understand or share the feelings of another. I feel like the world as a whole is lacking empathy and critical thinking. It’s possible that it has always been this way, but now we’re now at an age where everything is documented and can be seen/read/heard from the palm of your hand. It’s amazing, really.

I think it’s important to be able to read something you don’t like and say, “Okay why are they saying this? Is it based on fact? Why does this person feel so strongly about it? What lead up to this person wanting to voice their opinion?” While your initial reaction might be based on fear or hate, it’s possible to put that aside to be able to learn and gain more of an understanding- in which case that initial reaction might be dissolved and emotion will be met with logic. You can listen without having an emotional reaction.

At what point do you decide you do/don’t agree or aren’t going to tolerate something and move on? I can’t answer that, but keeping an open mind is important whether you agree or disagree with whatever this hypothetical thing is.

I’m getting way off track here and not sure I’m even making any sense. When it comes to trich, empathy will help you to understand why some people ask, “Why would someone do that?” or “Can’t you just stop?” and even understand why some people say “That’s crazy/stupid.” The simple answer is that from their point of view, pulling your hair out doesn’t make any sense! They haven’t experienced it and that’s okay. While it would be great for awareness and research, not everyone has to understand. At the same time, you can have empathy for yourself. Your hair pulling is caused from a disorder that has no cure- The loss of hair is never the intention and it’s not your fault.

